KAMELOT Releases Second Operatic Single Titled “Opus of the Night”

Kamelot Band

The latest update from the power metal band from Florida, USA, KAMELOT who just released their second operatic single entitled “Opus of the Night (Ghost Requiem)“, this song featuring cellist Tina Guo which is a Grammy nominated soundtrack. The second single is accompanied by a new lyric video, and the song is a thematic continuation of the story that was born on the 2007 album “Ghost Opera”, celebrating the healing impact that music has on the human heart and mind.

KAMELOT vocalist Tommy Karevik said:

KAMELOT‘s music always carries messages of hope, light, and resolution. This story is a prime example of that. “Opus of the Night” brings the dark sound and traditional melodies of the band while bringing something new and exciting elements to the fore.”

Previously, KAMELOT released its first single entitled “One More Flag in the Ground” in January 2023. The first and second singles are part of their new album “The Awakening” which is planned to be released on March 17, 2023 through Napalm Records.

The videos for the first single “One More Flag in the Ground” and the second single “Opus of the Night (Ghost Requiem)” can be watched via the YouTube link at the end of this article.

The album cover artwork for “The Awakening” was done by Giannis Nakos who also worked on their previous album “The Shadow Theory” (2018).

1.           Overture (Intro)
2.           The Great Divide  
3.           Eventide
4.           One More Flag in the Ground
5.           Opus of the Night (Ghost Requiem)
6.           Midsummer’s Eve
7.           Bloodmoon
8.           Nightsky
9.           The Looking Glass           
10.         New Babylon  
11.         Willow
12.         My Pantheon (Forevermore)
13.         Ephemera (Outro)

Apart from featuring Tina Guo, on the album “The Awakening”, they also invited the beautiful vocalist Simone Simons from the symphony metal giant EPICA as well as the versatile vocalist Melissa Bonny from the band AD INFINITUM and the German-born violinist Florian Janoske.

KAMELOT was formed by Thomas Youngblood and drummer Richard Warner in Tampa, Florida in 1991. In 1994 they signed a deal with Noise Records, and released their debut album “Eternity” in August the following year. The press hailed the album as one of the most promising debuts of all time. In 1996, the second album “Dominion” was released, a work that was even more diverse and varied than its debut. Then in 1997, Warner drummer and singer Mark Vanderbilt was replaced. KAMELOT found more than just a replacement with Casey Grillo and former CONCEPTION singer Khan, who had joined the band during the production of their third album, “Siege Perilous” which was released in 1998.

With the new line-up toured Europe during the fall of the same year, returning to Gate Studio in Wolfsburg twelve months later to work on their fourth album “The Fourth Legacy” which was released in December 1999. The summer of 2000 saw them through Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Holland, Belgium, Italy, Greece and Spain, where they recorded it for their first live album, entitled “The Expedition“.

Just a few months later they released their fifth album “Karma“, which was followed by a European tour. In 2003 they released the album “Epica” which combined all the elements from their previous albums with new ideas and a great sound and was followed by a tour as a headliner in Europe, Japan, Mexico and the US, as well as many top festival appearances.

In 2005 the album “The Black Halo” was released and added the history of their journey more interesting and epic. In 2006 they released their first live DVD, entitled “One Cold Winter’s Night”, directed by the famous film company Revolver Films and world-renowned director, Patric Ullaeus. The DVD was heralded by press and fans alike and established it as the new standard for DVDs in their genre.

Subsequently, KAMELOT displayed a more sinister side in the albums “Ghost Opera” (2007) and “Poetry For The Poisoned” (2010), but later returned to their melodic side with new vocalist Tommy Karevik and the album “Silverthorn” released in 2012. In 2015 they released the album “Haven” which was produced by Sascha Paeth, and famous guest musicians such as Alissa White-Gluz (ARCH ENEMY), Troy Donockley (NIGHTWISH) and Charlotte Wessels (DELAIN) brought that extra magic to the album.

In 2018 they released the album “The Shadow Theory” and the live album “Am the Empire: Live from the 013” in 2020.

KAMELOT line-up:
Sean Tibbetts – Bass
Thomas Youngblood – Guitar
Oliver Palotai – Keyboards
Tommy Karevik – Vocals
Alex Landenburg – Drums

Official Website: http://www.kamelot.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kamelotofficial

Kamelot - The Awakening